School Social Worker of the Year

Given the complexity of our modern-day challenges, it takes a village to support students and their families.  With growing trends in catastrophic events at schools, shifts in family dynamics, changes in legislative policy, and increasing awareness of mental health and economic needs, the role of professional Social Workers in our schools is more necessary and appreciated than ever. 

We invite you to recognize your school social workers as an integral part of your  village, and to consider nominating a deserving school social worker for the School Social Worker of the Year Award.  

This award is sponsored by the School Social Work Association of Nebraska (SSWAN), and celebrates the qualities and contributions of professional Social work to the educational experiences of students and their families.      

Nominations can be submitted by school administrators, teachers, counselors, school psychologists, or other community professionals who want to acknowledge a school social worker within the state of Nebraska.  To this end, please help us to spread the word by forwarding this information to others who may have had the opportunity to work with School Social Workers. 

Click HERE to nominate a School Social Worker!

2023 Recipient

Andrea Phillips

Lincoln Public Schools

Past Recipients

Here are the recipients of Nebraska's annual School Social Worker of the Year Award.  Recipients are nominated by their peers and colleagues in the profession and fellow educators.   Final selections are made by a committee of past recipients using a rubric. 

2022 Recipient Stephanie HoesingOmaha Public Schools
2021 Recipient Susie JonesBellevue Public Schools
2020 RecipientMolly SchnabelPapillion La Vista Community Schools
2019 RecipientCarrie ErksLincoln Public Schools
2018 RecipientNikki PetersonKearney Public Schools
2017 RecipientLori McArthurKearney Public Schools
2016 RecipientKeryl MinesPlattsmouth Community Schools
2015 RecipientNora TreatLincoln Public Schools
2014 RecipientTaira MasekPapillion-LaVista Public Schools
2013 RecipientJill AndersonMillard Public Schools
2012 RecipientAngie HalsteadFremont Public Schools
2011 RecipientLaurie CooleyPapillion/LaVista Schools
2010 RecipientSusan SieczkowskiWestside Community Schools
2009 RecipientShelley BoydMillard Public Schools
2008 RecipientSteve SnodgrassRalston Public Schools
2007 RecipientKelly LatimerMillard South High SchoolMillard Public Schools