About us

"Every kid is one caring adult away from being a success story."

-Josh Shipp

Our Mission

The School Social Work Association of Nebraska is dedicated to promoting the profession of School Social Work and the professional development of School Social Workers in order to enhance the educational experience of students and their families.

Our Goals

Promote service delivery models that will empower children, families, schools and communities to be effective participants in the learning process. - Develop and maintain collaborative relationships with various local, state and national associations, organizations and educational institutions for the purpose of meeting the needs of children and families. - Stimulate the development and effective delivery of School Social Work Services - Encourage and facilitate the educational and professional growth of School Social Workers.

School Social Workers....

Help students to:

  • Cope in times of crisis

  • Access mental health services

  • Become resilient and successful learners

  • Gain personal and social competencies


SSWAA Elements of School Social Work

SSWAA School Social Work Services

Support parents to:

  • Effectively participate in their child's education

  • Understand their child's development

  • and educational needs

  • Access school and community resources

  • Strengthen parenting skills

Work with school administrators to:

Implement effective prevention programs and policies which address:

  • School attendance

  • Alcohol & Substance Abuse

  • Teen pregnancy

  • Violence

  • Suicide & sudden death

  • Child abuse/ Neglect

  • School safety

  • Mental Health Services

SSWAN Board Members

Executive Board

President:


Carrie Erks

Lincoln Public Schools

cerks@lps.org


Past President:

Molly Schnabel

Papillion-LaVista Community Schools

mschnabel@paplv.org


Treasurer:

Susie Jones

Bellevue Public Schools

susan.jones@bpsne.net


Secretary:

Whitney Brown

Lincoln Public Schools

wbrown@lps.org

Member at Large:

Lily DeFrank

Omaha Public Schools

lily.defrank@ops.org

Consultants

University Representative


Susan Raey

sreay@unomaha.edu


Midwest Representative


Emily Arkfeld

emily.arkfeld@unl.edu


Consultant


Amanda Randall

arandall@unomaha.edu


Committee Chairs

Conference Committee

Amber King

amber.king@plcschools.org

Jewel Schifferns

jschifferns@childrensomaha.org


Engagement Committee

Sally Smith

ssmith@gips.org

Ann Holley ann.holley@centralvps.org

Legislative Committee

Lori McArthur

lormcarthur@kearneycats.com

Mary Bahney

marylby@aol.com